This day that year: KKR clinch maiden trophy in 2012, Dhoni leads CSK to 3rd title in 2018

Today’s date, i.e. May 27, holds a special place in the hearts of all Chennai Super Kings and Kolkata Knight Riders’ fans as both teams lay their hands on the Indian Premier League trophy just 6 years apart from each other.

While one team asserted their dominance on the tournament once again after their return, the other showed its true potential by stunning all other sides to end their four-year title drought.

The common factor in both teams was their respective captains, completely different personalities but equally effective.


Kolkata Knight Riders, under the leadership of Gautam Gambhir, clinched their maiden IPL title in 2012 after beating defending champions Chennai Super Kings in the final at the MA Chidambaram stadium on May 27, 2012.

KKR were superbly led by the gutsy Gambhir, who had joined the franchise in the 2011 as the highest paid player in the auction at $2.4 million.

They went on to win 10 matches out of 16 in the league phase while beating Delhi Capitals in the first qualifier to set up the final against CSK.

The match will be remembered for the superb knock played by Manvinder Bisla, who smashed 89 off 48 balls as KKR made a mockery of the 191-run target.

Bisla was ably supported by Jacque Kallis (69) as KKR chased down 191 in 19.4 overs to win their first title in the IPL.


Chennai Super Kings made an emotional return to the IPL after serving out their two-year suspension for spot-fixing by going all the way and lifting the trophy for the first time since 2011.

MS Dhoni was back leading the yellow-brigade as they crushed the Sunrisers Hyderabad to lift their third title, making Mahi the joint-most successful captain in the IPL along with Mumbai Indians skipper Rohit Sharma.

Shane Watson single-handedly guided CSK to victory with his unbeaten 117 off 57 balls, the highest score in an IPL final, as they chased down 179 in just 18.3 overs at the Wankhede Stadium on May 27, 2018.


The first triangular series in Test cricket was played on this day in 1912 between England, Australia and South Africa, the only three Test-playing nations at the time.

The first Test of the series was played at Old Trafford in Manchester between Australia and South Africa.

Australia, led by Syd Gregory, won the match by an innings and 88 runs.

Get real-time alerts and all the news on your phone with the all-new India Today app. Download from

  • IOS App

Source link

Latest articles

Manipur Assistant Superintendent of Police (ASP) Thounaojam Brinda.Imphal (Manipur): Manipur Assistant Superintendent of Police (ASP) Thounaojam Brinda on Friday returned his Chief...

India Crosses 1 Crore COVID-19 Cases; Spread Of Virus Slows Down

India is in the number one position in terms of the number of recovered coronavirus casesNew Delhi: India has crossed the grim...

Nagaland Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio, Opposition Leader Call For Early Solution To Naga Political Issue

Nagaland Chief Minister Calls For Early Solution To Naga Issue. (FILE)Kohima: Nagaland Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio and opposition leader TR Zeliang have...

Madhya Pradesh Woman Who Had Gone Missing Found After 3 Years

Madhya Pradesh Woman Who Had Gone Missing Found After 3 Years. (Representational)Indore: A 38-year-old woman, who had gone missing from Shirdi town...
Read more

Related articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here